Baby Bottle Lab

In today’s blog I’ll discuss the baby bottle lab we did for the majority of last week.

In short, the lab was a success for me. I managed to get my baby bottle all the way to the other side of a PVC pipe with water. (a distance of 600 cm).  Honesty, getting the bottle to the other side had less to do with the combination of baking soda and vinegar and more to do with the design of the lid and bottle.  In my first run, I used about 240ml of vinegar and about 18ml of baking.  The bottle went about 450cm.  I used a different bottle, but with the same amounts of reagents, and the bottle went all the way.  When observing my classmates’ bottles, I noticed that often times two students would use the same ratios of reagents, but achieve different results.

If I could have adjusted the experiment, I would have tried to get everyone to have exactly the same baby bottle.  This would also us to directly compare our results.  Some trial and error was required, but I solved my problem by adding more vinegar and baking soda.

At the end of a run, either baking soda or vinegar is left over from the reaction.  The amount of the substance left over is determined by stoichiometric amounts because of the reactions on the atomic scale.  One molecule of baking soda will always react with one molecule of vinegar, regardless of the mass of either compound.  Depending on the amount of vinegar or baking soda, either chemical can be the limiting reagent.

Click here to see a video of the Baby Bottle Lab.

Sources: Baby Bottle Lab Sheet; http://virtualgardner2.weebly.com/h-chemistry-unit-3.html; http://chemcollective.org/stoichiometry

Featured Image: http://virtualgardnerblogs.weebly.com/chemistry.html

Leave a Reply

